The Legislative Assembly has 30 members who serve for a statutory term of five years, 15 of whom are elected on a basis of adult suffrage and the other 15 elected by property holders only.

The salary of the Premier is \$6,000 and the salaries of the Cabinet Ministers are as follows: Attorney and Advocate General and Provincial Treasurer, \$4,500; Minister of Health and Welfare, Minister of Public Works and Highways, Minister of Industry and Natural Resources, Minister of Agriculture, \$4,000 each; Minister of Education and Provincial Secretary, \$3,000 each. Each Member of the Assembly is paid the sum of \$1,000 for each session attended by him and an additional amount of \$500, tax free, as indemnity for expenses incurred. The Speaker is paid a further additional sum of \$400 and an additional amount of \$200, tax free, for indemnity incurred, and the Leader of the Opposition is paid a further additional sum of \$800 and an additional amount of \$200, tax free, for indemnity incurred by him in relation to his official duties.

## 15.—Legislatures and Premiers of Prince Edward Island, 1935-52, and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1952

## Legislatures, 1935-521

Date of Election	Legislature	ture Number Date of First Opening		Date of Dissolution	
July 23, 1935 May 18, 1939 Sept. 15, 1943 Dec. 11, 1947 Apr. 26, 1951	18th General Assembly	4	Sept. 25, 1935. Mar. 20, 1940. Feb. 15, 1944. Feb. 24, 1948. Oct. 23, 1951.	Aug. 20, 1943 Oct. 27, 1947 Mar. 30, 1951	

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Ministries from 1935-52 were: 19th Ministry, sworn in Oct. 14, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. W. J. P. MacMillan; 20th Ministry, sworn in Aug. 15, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. W. M. Lea; 21st Ministry, sworn in Jan. 14, 1936, under the leadership of Hon. T. A. Campbell; 22nd Ministry, sworn in May 11, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. J. Walter Jones.

<sup>2</sup> Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1952.

## Twenty-Second Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, Apr. 26, 1951: 24 Liberals and 6 Progressive Conservatives.)

Note.—Ministers who have held office continuously are shown at the date of original appointment, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier. Date of appointment does not necessarily mean that the Minister was sworn in on date given.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, President of the Executive Council and Minister of Education. Minister of Health and Welfare. Attorney and Advocate General and Provincial Treasurer. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Industry and Natural Resources. Minister of Public Works and Highways. Provincial Secretary. Minister without portfolio. Minister without portfolio.	Hon. J. WALTER JONES	Feb. 12, 1948 June 16, 1951	Feb. 9, 1944 Mar. 12, 1948 Oct. 13, 1949 Oct. 13, 1949 Oct. 13, 1949 June 16, 1951 June 16, 1951 June 16, 1951

## Subsection 3.—Nova Scotia

The Government of the Province of Nova Scotia has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly.

The Honourable J. A. D. McCurdy, the present Lieutenant-Governor, was commissioned to office Aug. 12, 1947. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the Year Book 1951, p. 87.